YES 2018 Results

>Home >YES >YES 2018 Results
YES 2018 Results

Students Win Business Title

Gisborne Girls’ High School students are the Gisborne regional champions for The Lion Foundation Young Enterprise Scheme.

“The student company commission artists to create stunning and vibrant murals throughout Gisborne, Tairawhiti, representing the theme of journey, which showcases Gisborne's rich culture and heritage.”

To win the regional title, Project Ataahua completed a variety of business milestones during the year culminating in pitching their business to a panel of judges last night. The judging panel included Gretchen Moylan Director Civil Projects Solutions, Gavin Murphy CEO ECT and Steven Follows GM Energy Solutions Eastland Group.

The team will now head to Wellington to vie for the title of The Lion Foundation Young Enterprise Scheme Company of the Year. Twenty regional teams from across New Zealand will compete in the national dragons den competition and attend the awards gala dinner. More than $25,000 in prizes will be awarded to student companies at the national dinner.

Nearly 4000 students have taken part nationwide in The Lion Foundation Young Enterprise Scheme this year, setting up over 900 companies. The one-year programme gives students an authentic learning experience which connects them with the business community.

The full list of regional winners announced were:

Eastland Group Marketing Award

Project Ataahua – Gisborne Girls’ High School

Nitha Vashti - CEO

Kate Plummer - Marketing and Production

Kaea Gillman - Finance

Electric Village Innovation and Design Award

Chair Bro – Opotiki College

SInead Herewini

Melissa Parkinson

Liana Mathews

Bryn Gault

Ena Herbert

Annual Review Award

Project Ataahua – Gisborne Girls’ High School

Rangatahi Entrepreneurs Award for Sustainable Practice

Orohena Cosmetics – Lytton High School

Riata Maynard

Ariana Renata

Brooklyn Keenan

Keri Mankelow-Ngatoro

Female Entrepreneur

Project Ataahua Nitha Vashti

Male Entrepreneur

Chair Bro - Bryn Gault – Opotiki College


Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand Award for CEO of the Year

it is awarded to the YES CEO who most effectively demonstrates leadership. Judging was done by a panel of Senior Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand staff who read the CEO’s statement about their leadership excellence.

Nitha will receive $1000 cash prize, a trophy and will be invited to attend a networking event with Chartered Accounts Australia and New Zealand. Nitha will be presented her award at the National Awards in Wellington, 6 Dec.

Runner-Up YES Regional Company of the Year

The Kiwi Publish – Rebecca Collier, GGHS

WINNER – YES Regional Company of the Year


Posted: Tue 23 Oct 2018